The bloggers who have helped me along the way!

Generally, I regard my blog as a travel blog however as a student with little money there is only so far I can travel and thus it is a blog which recounts my travels from within the UK. Its overall purpose, however, is to recount my travels when finding unique places which break away from the monotony of my usual lifestyle; whether that be a quirky bar, markets, festivals and so on.

The target audience for my blog will primarily be people much alike myself, for example, students or people on average in their late teens or 20’s – potentially even those in their 30’s. My reasoning being that I will be exploring events that interest me, that are quirky, energetic and frequently alcohol fuelled.

The three main travel blog posts that have then influenced my blog have been: Rossi Writes ‘Camden Town – On the Edge’, VickyFlipFlopTravels ’12 Reasons Why You Have to Go to Latitude Festival’ and unbrave girl ‘Chiang Mai on the Cheap: the Unbrave Girl’s Guide to (Reluctant) Budget Living‘.

What really inspired me from Rossi Writes blog post ‘Camden Town – On the Edge’ was its linear narrative structure which I wanted to replicate in my blog post about Camden as I found that this technique really helped me as the reader to visualise the steps of the blogger themselves. The blog post is also well written in terms of its depth through its use of visual imagery and depiction of the senses, for example, when she refers to the blaring of music, the intensity of the crowds and traffic, the types of people, the detailing of the buildings, the types and smells of food etc. However midway into the blog post I think she tends to talk too much about her experience as a stallholder, detracting from the purpose of the blog post. Whilst it is interesting to recount some personal experience of the area I want to make sure my blog is more succinct.

Secondly VickyFlipFlopTravels blog post ’12 Reasons Why You Have to Go to Latitude Festival’ inspired my BoomTown post with its listing. Being able to section off information like this makes it digestible to read and therefore more appealing to readers. Yet I felt it lacked the imagery and interaction with the senses which I found to be so engaging and informative in helping to build a visual landscape of the setting in Rossi Writes blog post.

Lastly the blog post ‘Chiang Mai on the Cheap: the Unbrave Girl’s Guide to (Reluctant) Budget Living’ by unbrave girl. Having followed unbrave girl for a long time I have found that consistently it is her tone of voice which is so engaging and reaches out to such a large audience. She is colloquial, witty, conversational, and by asking questions interacts with her audience. I think it will be crucial to achieve a tone of voice and personality such as this in my own blog to forge intimacy with my audience.

However I do think these blogs have missed the opportunity to put in links and alternative media e.g. video’s, in their blogs which I will make sure to do in all of my posts. I feel it helps to enhance the blogs breadth of information and also allows readers to interact further with the blog posts themselves.

Leave a Reply

