Markets in London you say?…take me with you!

Oooooh I just love a good market and London is the place for them. I went down to London for a long weekend Saturday to Monday and each day I made sure to explore a market each day. Broadway on Saturday, Brick Lane on Sunday and Camden on Monday.

Broadway Market

Broadway market is only open on a Saturday but is well worth the trip if you’re a foodie! There’s food from every nationality: African, Thai, Chinese, Japanese, Italian, Spanish…the list goes on. I basically walked around the whole place with drool down my face as I was gawping at these magnificent pastries, giant scotch eggs, artwork, crafts, vintage clothing stalls and the odd bit of jewellery here and there. So whilst finally choosing a mix and match of the African fish and coconut pork dish with rice I sat down nomming away listening to the brilliant busking musicians dotted around the place…pure bliss!

broadway-market

Abnormally sized cakes at the market…I promise they look bigger in real life!

The one thing is it isn’t ideal for the average student…well i suppose quality comes at a price. Whilst the stalls weren’t exactly cheap the shops on the outskirts were flippin’ expensive as well…well out of my price range but then I am a bit of a scrooge with the pounds. In the pub it was £5 a pint!!! Now you can’t tell me that’s not expensive?! And I would say I was pretty used to London prices. But the sun was shining, I’d bumped into some old friends randomly in the market so I just couldn’t say no to a pint no matter the price.

I’d say this market is for someone a little older than myself but then who doesn’t love good food…if your belly is in need of some TLC then Broadway’s a winner!

Leave a Reply

